Radio Telescope
Department of


Astrophysics is one of major research areas of the UNSW School of Physics. The UNSW Department of Astrophysics and Optics consists of 9 academic staff, including one holder of a Discovery Outstanding Research Award (DORA), 6 post-doctoral staff, and 12 postgraduate researchers and technical staff.

UNSW Astrophysics has research areas in Antarctic astronomy, Astrobiology, Exoplanetary science, Star Formation, Chemistry and Dynamics of the Interstellar Medium, Varying Fundamental Constants, cosmology, physics of the early universe, and Galactic archaeology. The Department is actively involved in the building and development of astronomical instrumentation, with current projects including optical and terahertz telescopes at two locations on the Antarctic plateau, and infrared instrumentation for major planet-finding projects on the Anglo Australian Telescope. UNSW is a member of the Nanten2 consortium, which runs the sub-millimetre telescope in the high plains of the Atacama desert in Chile, and is one of two Australian universities who help fund the Mopra telescope in Australia.


10 July 2015
The New Horizons spacecraft will benefit our astronomers at UNSW.
14 April 2015
Claire-Elise Green, a PhD student in the Department of Astrophysics, has been awarded the inaugural CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics.
14 February 2015
The School of Physics was proud to host Professor Ian Jacobs, just eight days into his tenure as Vice Chancellor of UNSW Australia.
10 November 2014
The School's academic and research staff have achieved outstanding success in the latest Australian Research Council Discovery and Linkage awards, receiving over $4.4M in funding for 9 projects.
30 September 2014
30th September, 2:00 - 3:00pm, Room 64 Old Main Building
Nanoscale BioPhotonics: new
25 September 2014
A top-up scholarship, valued at A$5,000 per annum for 3-years, is available for international and Australian PhD students.