Condensed Matter Physics at UNSW
Department of
Condensed Matter Physics

Condensed Matter Physics

UNSW houses one of the strongest Condensed Matter Physics departments in Australia, with eleven members of academic staff (including five ARC Federation, Professorial or Future Fellows), and more than fifty research fellows, technical staff and research students.

Research in CMP is focussed on the electrical, optical, magnetic and thermal properties of advanced nanoscale materials, with potential applications in nanoelectronics, computing, memory elements, energy and biotechnology. The unique array of research facilities at UNSW includes cryogenic systems for measuring the motion of single electrons inside quantum devices operating at close to the absolute zero of temperature, full clean-room facilities, scanning tunnelling microscopes that can be used to make electronic devices at the atomic scale, advanced laser and raman spectroscopy laboratories, and high performance electron microscopes.

More information on the individual research groups which comprise UNSW CMP can be found below.


30 October 2017

The 2017 Gordon Godfrey Workshop on 

26 October 2017

Quantum physics in one spatial dimension is peculiar and remarkably rich, yet even with strong interactions and disor

12 October 2017

Lecturer / Senior Lecturer Tenure Track Positions

18 October 2016

For her pioneering research in quantum

27 August 2015

Scientia Professor Michelle Simmons has been awarded the 2015 CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science.

28 April 2015
Researchers in the School of Physics have developed a new scalable process for making nanowire transistors with multiple, independently-controllable gates.
14 February 2015
The School of Physics was proud to host Professor Ian Jacobs, just eight days into his tenure as Vice Chancellor of UNSW Australia.
03 December 2014

A new paper by LaReine Yeoh, Ashwin Srinivasan, Oleh Klochan and co-authors reveals new and strange magnetic properti

24 November 2014
Prof. Michelle Simmons awarded 2015 Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal by Australian Academy of Science.
10 November 2014
The School's academic and research staff have achieved outstanding success in the latest Australian Research Council Discovery and Linkage awards, receiving over $4.4M in funding for 9 projects.