Reflection in silver ball
World Leading
Physics Research


The School of Physics at UNSW is well positioned to play its role as a leading centre of research excellence. Last year, the School received over five million dollars in external research funding, published over 200 refereed papers and made 90 conferences presentations. These are just some of the indicators of the School’s reputation in research.

The School consists of five research departments: Acoustics, Astrophysics, Biophysics, Condensed Matter Physics, and Theoretical Physics. The school also hosts the Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology (CQC2T) which has been designated an Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence. Follow the links for further information about the research and the staff of each of these departments.

For more information or enquiries regarding research in the School of Physics please contact the Research Director, Prof Sarah Brough (