Wires and globes
Studying with us


Welcome to the School of Physics. Some of you will be studying a physics major in your Bachelor of Science degree. Others may be taking one or two physics courses as electives, or as part of your degree from another Faculty.

Here you will find information about the courses we offer, your lecturers, and assessment.

  • First Year Teaching Unit is responsible for the teaching of all first year physics courses and some of the General Education Electives taught by the School of Physics. Any enquiry regarding first year physics courses (including application for exemption, etc.) should be directed to the First Year Teaching Unit, not individual lecturers or tutors. In the first instance, such enquiries should be directed to 
    Ranjinie Balalla
    Room G06, Ground Floor, Old Main Building
    The Office is open 9:30 am-12:30 pm, and 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm Mon-Fri.
    Telephone: +61-2-9385 4976
    email: firstyear@phys.unsw.edu.au
  • All other physics undergraduates should contact
    Seda Cokcetin
    Room G06, Ground Floor, Old Main Building
    Telephone: +61-2-9385 5969
    email info@phys.unsw.edu.au