Radio Telescope
Department of


Astrophysics is one of major research areas of the UNSW School of Physics. The UNSW Department of Astrophysics and Optics consists of 9 academic staff, including one holder of a Discovery Outstanding Research Award (DORA), 6 post-doctoral staff, and 12 postgraduate researchers and technical staff.

UNSW Astrophysics has research areas in Antarctic astronomy, Astrobiology, Exoplanetary science, Star Formation, Chemistry and Dynamics of the Interstellar Medium, Varying Fundamental Constants, cosmology, physics of the early universe, and Galactic archaeology. The Department is actively involved in the building and development of astronomical instrumentation, with current projects including optical and terahertz telescopes at two locations on the Antarctic plateau, and infrared instrumentation for major planet-finding projects on the Anglo Australian Telescope. UNSW is a member of the Nanten2 consortium, which runs the sub-millimetre telescope in the high plains of the Atacama desert in Chile, and is one of two Australian universities who help fund the Mopra telescope in Australia.


10 May 2019

Emus can’t fly, but there’s an Emu in the sky.

22 March 2019

Observational Astronomer Associate Professor Sarah Brough is taking Australian astronomy to grea

21 August 2018

The School of Physics's Prof Michael Ashley and UNSW alumnus Dr Colin Bonner have travelled to Tibet to search for a

26 June 2018

The School of Physics is currently hiring for two education-focused roles.

24 April 2018

In a huge galactic archaeology project, astronomers led by UNSW's Dr Sarah Martell have

19 April 2018

When NASA’s Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) blasted off into space, Dr Dennis Stello from the School of

12 May 2016

UNSW Physics Outreach team presented once again at Trinity Grammar School

18 November 2015
Dr Maria Cunningham was awarded a UNSW Postgraduate Council's "Outstanding Excellence in Postgraduate Research Supervision Award".